The South Carolina Department of Transportation’s Commission has bestowed a significant honor upon Secretary Christy Hall by dedicating the interchange of I-20 and I-26 in Columbia as the “Secretary Christy A. Hall P.E. Interchange.” This tribute comes as Secretary Hall prepares for retirement from her distinguished career at SCDOT. ChairContinue Reading

Kayla Garrett, a kindergarten assistant at Piney Woods Elementary School in Lexington-Richland School District Five, has been honored with the 2023-2024 Alternative Pathways for Educator Certification (APEC) Professional Commitment Award. This prestigious award recognizes Garrett’s exceptional commitment to learning and professional growth within the APEC program. As the recipient ofContinue Reading

NaKendra Kinard, Clinical Counselor at Lexington-Richland School District Five, has been honored with the title of South Carolina’s Outstanding Counselor of the Year by the South Carolina Counseling Association (SCCA). Expressing her gratitude for the recognition, Kinard stated, “I am so honored to be selected for this award and haveContinue Reading

School District Five has announced its science fair winners. The events were held at Dutch Fork High School. The Elementary, Intermediate, and Middle School Science Fair took place February 10, and the High School Science and Engineering Fair took place February 24. The District Elementary, Intermediate, and Middle School ScienceContinue Reading

Mary Alice Laubach, the Placement Chair at Dutch Fork Middle School in Lexington-Richland School District Five, has been honored with the Principal of the Year award for South Carolina by the South Carolina Council for Exceptional Children (SCCEC) for 2024. Despite not being a principal, individuals serving as the SpecialContinue Reading

Columbia, S.C. – The South Carolina Arts Commission has announced that the South Carolina Philharmonic is the recipient of the 2024 Governor’s Award for the Arts in the Organization category. The award recognizes outstanding achievement and contributions to the arts in South Carolina and is the state’s highest honor inContinue Reading

Lynn Collins, a temporary school psychologist in School District Five, has been honored as a 2024 Outstanding Advocate by the National Association of School Psychologists (NASP) Government and Professional Relations Committee. Collins received this prestigious recognition at the NASP Convention in New Orleans, Louisiana, on February 15, 2024. Expressing herContinue Reading

In a celebration of her three decades of musical excellence, Lisa Rayner, a music specialist at Pontiac Elementary School in Richland School District Two, has been officially inducted into the South Carolina Music Educators Association (SCMEA) Hall of Fame. The ceremony, held at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center, honored Rayner’sContinue Reading

Attorney, retired military officer recognized by Briggs family, other civil rights leaders By W. Thomas Smith Jr. Dr. Tom Mullikin, a Camden-based attorney and retired two-star commander of the S.C. State Guard who today chairs the state’s floodwater commission, was singularly honored by the Briggs family (the case of BriggsContinue Reading

Amy Umberger, the resident scientist at Dutch Fork Elementary Academy of Environmental Sciences, has been honored with the Outstanding Earth Science Teacher Award by the National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT). This award acknowledges Umberger’s exceptional contributions to stimulating interest in Earth Sciences at the pre-college level. Umberger, who teachesContinue Reading

Seven seniors from Lexington-Richland School District Five have been named candidates in the prestigious 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, marking one of the highest honors for the graduating class of 2024. The following students have been nominated: Damien Dedmond (Chapin High) Caroline Huang (Dutch Fork High) Ava McCarty (Spring HillContinue Reading

Lexington-Richland School District Five recently announced the exceptional educators and support staff members who have been selected as the Teachers and Support Employees of the Year for the 2024-2025 school year. These individuals have demonstrated outstanding dedication and commitment to their roles, making a positive impact on students and theContinue Reading

Quinton Epps, the Richland County Conservation Division manager, received recognition for his dedicated service of 10 years to the Richland Soil and Water Conservation District (RSWCD) during the recent S.C. Conservation Partnership Conference in Myrtle Beach. Lynn Pilewski, immediate past president of the S.C. Conservation District Employees Association, presented theContinue Reading