New boat law goes into effect

South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster signed a new boating law bill at a ceremony signing at the Columbia Sailing Club on Lake Murray, Thursday, July 27 at 2 pm.

The bill, S.96, is a boating safety and education law in South Carolina requiring anyone born after July 1, 2007, to undergo a boater education course to operate a vessel of 10 horsepower or more by themselves. It includes boat rentals and completed courses issued from other states.

The South Carolina Department of Natural Resources (SCDNR) has new boating regulations set to begin August 18.

After that date, boaters born after July 1, 2007, will be required to pass an approved boater education course before operating boats, jet skis, or specialty prop-crafts powered by a 10 HP motor or more.

There will be a grace period while people learn about the new law, but once fully enforced, a violation comes with a fine between $50 and $300.

For more information, visit boating.html.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *